Lisa M. Guay-Woodford

Dr. Lisa M. Guay-Woodford is the McGehee Joyce Professor of Pediatrics at the Children’s National Medical Center (CNMC), a pediatric nephrologist, and an internationally-recognized investigator whose research focuses on identifying clinical and genetic factors involved in the pathogenesis of inherited renal disorders, most notably autosomal recessive polycystic kidney disease (ARPKD).

Show More

Her laboratory has identified the disease-causing genes in several mouse models of recessive polycystic kidney disease and her group participated in the identification of the human ARPKD gene as part of the ARPKD Consortium. In addition, her laboratory was the first to identify a candidate modifier gene for recessive polycystic kidney disease. Dr. Guay-Woodford has over 140 peer-reviewed publications based on research performed in her own laboratory or as a member of several national and international consortia. She has directed the NIDDK P30-funded Hepato-Renal Fibrocystic Disease Research and Translational Core Center, initially established at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 2005, and continues to serve as co-Director since moving to CNMC in 2012. Her research program has been funded by the NIH, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Clinical Scientist Award in Translational Research, and the Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation. In 2009, Dr. Guay-Woodford was awarded the Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease, given by the PKD Foundation and the International Society of Nephrology.

In addition to her investigative work, Dr. Guay-Woodford has established and serves as Director of the CNMC Inherited Renal Disorders Program. She is the Director of the Center for Translational Science, as well as Director of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute at Children’s National Medical Center (CTSI-CN), which is funded by the NIH CTSA program. She serves on several editorial boards for journals in her field. She has been a permanent member and Chair of the NIH Cellular and Molecular Biology of the Kidney Study Section. She is the Past President of the Society for Pediatric Research and Councilor for the International Pediatric Nephrology Association. She has served as a Board of Trustee member for the Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation as well as the Association of Clinical and Translational Science. She currently serves as a member of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Advisory Council.

Show Less

Professor Patrick Mark

Patrick (Paddy) Mark is Professor of Nephrology and Honorary Consultant Nephrologist at the Glasgow Renal and Transplant Unit based at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow. He was appointed as Clinical Senior Lecturer in 2011 following clinical training in Medicine and Nephrology combined with a Clinical Lecturer post between 2006-2011. He was promoted to Reader in 2015 and to Professor in 2018.

Show More

He leads the United Kingdom Cardio-Renal Clinical Study Group, as part of the United Kingdom Kidney Research Consortium. He is the Chief Scientist Office Scotland Clinical Lead for Renal Research.  His PhD, awarded the Bellahouston Medal for outstanding thesis by medical graduate, was funded by a British Heart Foundation Junior Clinical Fellowship.  He graduated in Medicine in 1999 as Brunton Medallist awarded to the highest achieving student that  year.

Show Less

Dr Yong-Soo Kim

Dr. Yong-Soo Kim is a nephrologist and a Professor of Medicine in the Catholic University of Korea College of Medicine in Seoul, Korea. He was the Chief of the division of Nephrology (2006-2012), and has been working at the Seoul St. Mary’s Hospital for 30 years. He is currently the President of the Asian Pacific Society of Dialysis Access, and Chair of Interventional Nephrology Working Group of the International Society of Nephrology.

Show More

He served the Korean Society of Nephrology as an immediate past president (2016-2018), as a secretary general, as a chair of registry committee, as an editor in chief of Korean Journal of Nephrology (official journal of the KSN), and as a chair of scientific committee for many years. He founded the Korean Society of Diagnostic and Interventional Nephrology (KSDIN), and was the president of the KSDIN (2010-2018). His academic interests have focused on the dialysis, interventional nephrology, and kidney transplantation. During last 5 years, he has trained many nephrologists in interventional nephrology including 15 foreign nephrologists mostly from Asian countries. He has published over 150 original articles in the international peer reviewed journals mostly regarding dialysis, vascular access, and kidney transplantation.

Show Less


Speakers will be added as confirmed.  Click photos for further information

Brendon Neuen

Brendon Neuen 300px

Raelene Pickering

Raelene Pickering, Department of Diabetes

Rob Walker

Rob Walker NEW 300px

Lorraine Kwan

Dr Lorraine Kwan 300px

Sunita Bavanandan

Dr.Sunita Bavanandan 300px

Yusuke Suzuki

Professor Yusuke Suzuki 300px

Yeoungjee Cho

Yeoungjee Cho 300px

Ian Smyth

Ian Smyth 300px

Gopi Rangan


Anna Francis

Anna Francis 300px

David Jayne

David Jayne 300px

Meg Jardine

Meg Jardine 300px

Angela Webster

Angela Webster 300px

Kate Denton

Kate Denton 300px

Kim O’Sullivan

Kim O'Sullivan 300px

Simon Jiang

Dr Simon Jiang from The John Curtin School of Medical Research. Dr Jiang has lead research that has discovered the genetic cause of Lupus.


The ASM is hosted by Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology.

The aims of the Society are to promote and support the study of the kidney and urinary tract in health and disease, and to ensure the highest professional standards for the practice of nephrology in Australia and New Zealand.

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the Annual Scientific Meeting

© 2015 - 2016 Conference Design Pty Ltd